Don’t be thirsty

As you might know, I have a NYE resolution I will stick to this time: Do one challenge a month. I’ve explained the why and how right here.

FEBRUARY CHALLENGE

DRINK THREE LITERS OF WATER DAILY

Why a challenge about drinking water. Well, everybody knows that drinking water is  healthy. It maximizes your physical performance, it improves your energy level and brain function, no headaches and dry skin and maybe even weight loss. It’s not just healthy, but necessary for your body to function. 60% of our body consists of water. That is a lot of water to refresh regularly! Still, I cannot manage to drink it. It’s not that I don’t like it. It’s more that I forget to do it, even though I experience some symptoms of not drinking water, like getting headache. This is bad. I really need to change my habit. 3 liters of water seems a lot. Mostly 2 liters is recommended. But the amount varies a lot and depends mostly on your life style. I chose 3 liters because the I really have to push myself. After that month drinking 2 will be easy. Also I sport and sweat a lot (TMI, I know..) Therefore, 3 liter of water it is.

I forget to drink. Really, like when I work a lot, I just don’t go to the bathroom to refill my bottle ( I refuse to buy water as the Netherlands have the best drinking water in the world). Since it is not only almost impossible but also very dangerous to drink a huge amount of water at once, I have more specific goals as well.

  • Drink 1 liter before 12:00
  • Drink 1 liter before 18:00
  • Drink 1 liter after 18:00

I tried this before. When I did, I used an app to remind me in a fun way. That app really helped me getting started but then I relied on it too much. After removing the app, the old habits sneaked in through the back door. This time, I have to do it on my own. But for those who need a first push I highly recommend the free app Plant Nanny.

GET THE WATER BOTTLES OUT

Leave a Reply

