Values and Respect

So, last year a group of colleagues and I had some drinks which we do on a regular basis. I planned it and called it “not my birthday celebration drinks”.

They got gifts anyway! 

One of them watched the documentary Minimalism: A documentary about the important things with me during the cinema screening in Amsterdam, thanks to Jelle Derckx from Growthinkers. She knew I was totally into this Minimalism thing. She knew that I don’t want stuff. She knew that I wouldn’t be pleased with a physical gift.

They handled me a huge, heavy present anyway, saying:”You talk about this minimalism whatever it is thing…What to give a minimalist? Well, this is a book about minimalism! Really, We are stunned. So many pages dedicated to less.” The package was huge and heavy. Probably a book with lot’s of pictures. I thought of a book about minimalism design. Another coffee table book. I unpacked and it. The joke was on me! The “book” was 80 gram of plain printing paper! hahaha!!! I also got a real present which was a gift card for concerts.

The most important to me, however, was that they’ve listened to me. Maybe, minimalism is not their thing. Maybe they don’t even get it at all. I cannot make them. In fact, I don’t want to. Why? The people around you don’t have to be the same as you, as long as you have the same values and respect the differences. They respect my odd fascination of minimalism. This birthday joke isn’t their way to make fun of me. Maybe a little, but not in a bad way. This is just funny. And I’m Ok with these jokes, because I know that my colleagues appreciate me as I am. It’s not the joke that shows otherwise. It would have been a real physical cluttering thing as a present.

Leave a Reply

